You are using an unsupported browser. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11 or Safari

*** Tarrant Appraisal Review Board is now accepting applications for the 2022-2023 term. Member Application Form ***

Temporary Exemption for Disaster Damage

Tax Code Section 11.35 allows a qualified property that is at least 15 percent damaged by a disaster in a governor-declared disaster area to receive a temporary exemption of a portion of the appraised value of the property. A property owner must apply for the temporary exemption no later than 105 days after the governor declares a disaster area.

Governor Abbott declared the entire state of Texas a disaster area on February 12, 2021.  The deadline for filing the application for the exemption is May 28, 2021.

Link to application: Temporary Exemption for Disaster Damage

Return the completed application with requested documentation to:

PO BOX 185579
FORT WORTH, TX 76181-0579

Qualified property includes:

  • tangible personal property used for income production;
  • improvements to real property; and
  • certain manufactured homes.

The appraisal district determines if the property qualifies for the temporary exemption and assigns a damage assessment rating of Level I, II, III or IV. The appraisal district may rely on information from a county emergency management authority, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) or other appropriate sources when making this determination.

LevelDamage AssessmentDamage DescriptionExemption Percentage
I15% < 30%Minimal, may continue to be used as intended15%
II30% < 60%Nonstructural damage and waterline <18″ above floor30%
III60% < 100%Significant structural damage and waterline 18″+ above floor60%
IV100%Total loss; repair is not feasible100%

The damage assessment rating determines the percentage of appraised value of the qualified property to be exempted. The amount of the exemption is determined by multiplying the property value after applying the damage assessment rating to a fraction (365 divided by the number of days remaining in the tax year after the date the governor declares the disaster).